Up and Running

I feel that this post should begin with a pile of dusty books and maybe a cobweb or two, given how long it is since I wrote anything in here. And even now, I’m running late. Maybe it’s time for that cobweb.


Picture by Practicalowl on Flickr

Yesterday I started my new job. As of yesterday I am the Circulation and Customer Services Librarian for the Sainsbury Library at the Said Business School. Yes, that is a bit of a mouthful, especially once you add ‘University of Oxford’ and no, I haven’t worked out how to get it all on my business cards yet.

This is my third subject change in seven years, since I started out in Classics before moving to Law. Business is very much its own beast again, and I’m going to have to do a lot of reading very quickly to get me up to speed. Fortunately, I’ve already found some great Business Librarian blogs to get me going – more recommendations appreciated!

But mostly the last couple of days have been about settling in, finding the coffee and getting to know my new colleagues. Considering I started today by turning my desk through 90 degrees and subsequently rearranging a large chunk of the workroom, I think they may need a while to get used to me too! Next on my list is a trip to IT to see if they have a mouse that doesn’t have the ball falling out the bottom. Once I’ve got that and my network drive sorted, I’ll be ready to make a start.

New jobs and new subjects are always a little scary, and I’m really going to miss my colleagues at the Law Library, but staying within the same university helps, as does a good induction programme and people willing to answer your questions eight times an hour (thank you, people!). Hopefully as part of getting myself up and running again, I won’t be quite so neglectful of this blog. For various reasons, 2011 got off to a bit of a rocky start, so I’m declaring this the first week of the rest of the year. There’s so much to learn, so much to do, and so much to talk about that I’m still a little bewildered right now, but looking forward to what lies ahead.

Interesting Times, for sure.


Picture by Ian Britton-freefoto.com on Flickr

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Up and Running

  1. Congratulations on the new position! I’ve just finished library school and am dejected with lack of opportunities, so I’m happy to see that there are still those out there in fine academic positions. :)

Leave a Reply

